Ball State Graduate School Blog

Where will graduate school take you?

Meet Greg, a Doctoral Fellow whose passion for learning was fueled in the Human Performance Lab

Leave a comment

Today we’re excited to introduce you to Greg Grosicki, a Doctoral Fellow in the Human Performance Laboratory earning his PhD in Human Bioenergetics. Greg has had the opportunity to work on a number of exciting research projects, including a partnership with NASA to prevent muscle atrophy in astronauts. He spent some time sharing with us about how his graduate experience at Ball State ignited his passion for learning. 

15__ind041_017

Photo courtesy of Ball State Photo Services

On how he’s been transformed during graduate school:

“My experience at Ball State has fostered in me a true passion for knowledge. I have learned to think and problem-solve in innovative and creative ways and I can’t wait to see what the future has in store!”

On how he chose Ball State:

“I knew the Human Performance Lab at Ball State was where I wanted to pursue my graduate career because it would provide me with the opportunity to work in an internationally recognized facility alongside leading experts in the field. Working with the faculty and other students at Ball State I knew that I would be challenged in a way that would help me to reach my potential and set me up for success in my career.”

15__ind041_003

Photo courtesy of Ball State Photo Services

On the impact of his peers and faculty members:

“The best thing about getting a graduate degree at Ball State is the caliber of people you will meet and get to work with during your time here.  Every day I look forward to coming to school and getting to learn from and work with people who truly care about my success. These interactions create an environment where the sky is the limit.”

On the value of a graduate assistantship:

“The graduate assistantship I received in the Human Performance Lab truly is the best part of my experience here at Ball State. For as much as I learn in the classroom nothing can compare to the experience in the lab. Because of the daily interactions and constant sharing of ideas between students and faculty the lab becomes a second family. We learn together, exercise together, even eat together, it is an incredible bond and an atmosphere that challenges you to do your best.”

15__ind041_039

Photo courtesy of Ball State Photo Services

On the importance of a support network:

“I’ll never forget a poster in my 3rd grade math class that read ‘Shoot for the moon. Even if even if you miss, you will land among the stars.’ I have been fortunate throughout my educational career to receive support to keep aiming at that moon from my family, friends, teachers and academic advisors. I am so thankful for the encouragement I have received that has provided me with the strength to continue to pursue my dreams and lead me to attend graduate school at Ball State.”

On the practical application of his studies:

“The comprehensive and multi-faceted nature of my education at Ball State has prepared me to succeed regardless of my career choice after I graduate. During my time at Ball State I have overcome barriers and proved to myself there really are no limits to what I can achieve.”

Thanks for sharing with us, Greg! 

If you’d like to learn more about graduate programs in the Human Performance Laboratory, check out their website or contact the program director, Scott Trappe

Leave a Reply

