Ball State Graduate School Blog

Where will graduate school take you?

Meet Dea, an educator and leader in the Muncie community

Leave a comment

We’re excited to introduce you to Dea L. Moore-Young, who is working to complete her Doctorate of Education at Ball State. Dea, who is originally from Muncie, is an active leader in the educational community and serves as the Principal at Grissom Elementary School. She spent some time sharing with us about her graduate experience and shared some advice for incoming graduate students.

Dea Young Graduate School

Photo Courtesy of Ball State University Photo Services

On why she chose Ball State: 

“I previously received my Bachelors of Science, Masters of Art Education, and Ed.S. (School Superintendency) from Ball State.  Ball State is known across this country and abroad for its Teacher’s College and educational leadership programs.  I grew up in Muncie and work for Muncie Community Schools, so Ball State’s excellent educational programs are also conveniently accessible.”

On what she has gained from her time at Ball State Graduate School: 

“My favorite aspect of my graduate school experience was the “Ah-Ahh!” moment of a learning breakthrough and moving into a higher intellectual level. Ball State has given me valuable educational tools, fostered my collegial networking, and has provided valuable experiences which are preparing me for my career.”

Dea Young Graduate School

Photo Courtesy of Ball State University Photo Services

On how Ball State Graduate School has transformed her life: 

“Ball State graduate school has transformed me to be better at multi-tasking without sacrificing the quality of my work.  I reflect back on the coursework I completed while being elementary school principal,a single mom, a caregiver for an ill parent, on top of maintaining all the other responsibilities I was already committed to when I went back to school for my Ed.S and Ed.D. I have grown personally and professional from wonderful professors in the educational leadership department.”

On what makes Ball State a great place to earn a graduate degree:

“I would choose Ball State again because of my awesome and valuable experiences. The academic and social experiences that accompanied my great education from Ball State have been a blessing.  Ball State has extremely knowledgeable professors who have gone above and beyond to support me and prepare me educationally.”

Her advice for incoming graduate students: 

“Have an open mind for learning and to glean information and resources from Ball State’s intelligent and supportive professors. Be prepared to give it your all to earn your degree, work hard by doing your personal best and then work even harder, and enjoy the experience while having fun!”

Dea Young Graduate School

Photo Courtesy of Ball State University Photo Services

 Thank you for sharing with us, Dea! If you’d like to learn more about Ball State’s graduate programs in Education, check out their website

Leave a Reply

